Let your freak flag fly!

Disclaimer: This article was written by a girl who owns blue, jewel-encrusted gloves, a floral crown headband, huge librarian glasses, and is not afraid to wear them. In addition, said girl has her eye on two fur jackets: one all blue fur the other red fur, in spite of already owning three fur vests, one in black, one in camel and another in leopard, because sometimes you just never know. Need I mention that she really likes fur? but –shout out to PETA- not real fur.

 bold

Be bold, be beautiful, be you. Sorry if that comes off sounding like a clean and clear commercial, although as cliché and it may be, it’s the truth. When it comes to fashion you have to be yourself; fashion is a form of personal expression as well as a way of giving others a tiny glimpse of your true personality. When it comes to my personal sense of style, the simplest way I can describe it, is that I like to wear pieces where passersby’s give me looks and a glare that says “WTF?!! That girl is so totally dark”. I know that may sound strange to want to procure that type reaction from people, but when I do; I know that I’ve invoked this reaction based on an outfit that is truly trendy and unique.

 People are always so caught up in conforming, that I think they’ve forgotten the true meaning of fashion. Hint: it’s not copying every single thing the “popular” girls wear to school.

The greatest fashion advice I could ever give someone is to not be afraid to be different and stand out from the crowd. You shouldn’t care what other people think, because you should be dressing for you. Now, at this point, you may be reading this and thinking “kkz this girl is crazy”, but I promise I’m not. If your goal is to be a trendsetter and stand out from the crowd, then don’t let those dressed in UGGS and Hunter boots dictate the next trend; be the one who started it.

 Don’t fear judgment. Wear what you want and own it. Even if it really is “the ugliest effing skirt you have ever seen”, just work it.

 The next time you see a totally cute leopard print, oversized, thrifty nylon jacket, just get it. If it’s you, then you’ll figure out a way to own it. Screw that friend who always tells you “that jacket is so ugly”, and just do you, because if I listened to other people’s fashion opinions, if I walked passed you, you probably wouldn’t even give me a second glance. 

 

You do you.

Leave a Reply

